- Smockity Frocks - http://www.smockityfrocks.com -

4 Moms Discuss Homeschooling

Posted By Smockity Frocks On April 28, 2010 @ 11:15 pm In 4 Moms,Homeschool | 16 Comments

[1]

 

This week The 4 Moms [3]are discussing homeschooling, why we do it, what we hope to accomplish, you know, big picture type stuff.

But, don’t worry. In the coming weeks, we’ll get down to the nitty gritty and reveal how we choose curriculum, what we do with the littles and the bigs, how our husbands contribute, and how on earth we keep our houses in order and homeschool simultaneously. Frankly, I can’t wait to see what the others have to say about that last one, because… my… uh… neighbor has a REAL issue with keeping that one together!

As for why we homeschool, you will find my 3 part series titled, “Why Homeschool [4]?” filled with more detailed information than you probably ever wanted to know about the thought processes that led us to homeschooling.

I will tell you, though, that as a public school teacher for 8 years, I used to think homeschoolers were, you know, kinda wacky. I didn’t actually KNOW any homeschoolers, mind you, but I remember thinking that parents would be better off leaving the educating to us professionals, and that I knew better than they did what was best for their children.

Oh yes I did.  Young and over confident much?

Let’s just say that attitude made a 180 degree turn when I held my own baby in my arms for the first time and realized that no one cared about her well being and wanted what was best for her more than I did.

We didn’t think about homeschooling right away, but we knew that we wanted to be the ones making decisions about our own child’s future. Her education, her health, her development. I guess you could say we are the free thinking, independent types, but we couldn’t see why we would need “professionals” or “experts” taking over roles that we could very well fill ourselves.

I didn’t want to send her to preschool to learn to tie her shoes because I could do that myself. Same with learning her ABC’s and how to skip. Gradually, we began to see that we, the parents, could easily become the experts in teaching our own child.

This revelation didn’t have anything at all to do with judging other parents who didn’t come to the same conclusions we did. It was just an alternative that we felt good about, even though all of our close friends at that time were sending their kids off to public or private school.  (By the way, Kris has written an excellent post titled, “The Public School Parents’ Guide to Homeschool Parents [5]” that sums up a lot of my thoughts.)

So, that’s the short story of why Smockity began homeschooling. Be sure to read the long version [4]for more details, and don’t forget to check out what the other moms say about homeschooling.

Want to read more of the 4 Moms series? Check out these:


Article printed from Smockity Frocks: http://www.smockityfrocks.com

URL to article: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/04/4-moms-discuss-homeschooling.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.smockityfrocks.com%2F2010%2F04%2F4-moms-discuss-homeschooling.html&media=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.smockityfrocks.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2010%2F03%2F4Moms35KidsNames.jpg&description=4%20Moms%20Discuss%20Homeschooling

[2] Image: https://us154.infusionsoft.com/go/bundle/a656

[3] The 4 Moms : http://www.smockityfrocks.com/category/4-moms

[4] Why Homeschool: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2008/12/why-homeschool-prologue.html

[5] The Public School Parents’ Guide to Homeschool Parents: http://www.weirdunsocializedhomeschoolers.com/2010/04/public-school-parents-guide-to.html

[6] The Common Room: http://heartkeepercommonroom.blogspot.com/2010/04/four-moms-get-out-of-kitchen-and-talk.html

[7] Raising Olives: http://raisingolives.com/2010/04/homeschool-distintives/

[8] Life in a Shoe: http://inashoe.com/2010/04/4-moms-35-kids-extreme-homeschooling/

[9] Cooking For a Crowd: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/04/cooking-for-a-crowd.html

[10] Cooking From Scratch: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/04/4-moms-discuss-cooking-from-scratch.html

[11] Menu Planning: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/04/4-moms-35-kids-discuss-menu-planning.html

[12] Grocery Budgets: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/04/grocery-budgets.html

[13] Our Schedule: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/03/4-moms-35-kids-our-schedule-2.html

Copyright © 2013 Smockity Frocks. All rights reserved.