- Smockity Frocks - http://www.smockityfrocks.com -

4 Moms Discuss Cooking For Company

Posted By Smockity Frocks On December 16, 2010 @ 7:28 am In 4 Moms | 4 Comments

[1]

This week the 4 moms are discussing cooking for company.

Here is where I tell you that I used to freak out when company was coming and go all Ninja on the kids, like “WHIIIiiiiiyyyyyyy is there a petrified hot dog bun under your bed?! HOW MANY TIMES HAVE I SAID NO FOOD IN YOUR ROOM?!”

Okay, maybe I still react that way over petrified food, but I’m a lot more relaxed than I used to be about company coming over.

I used to think everything had to be perfect for company. The perfect house. The perfect meal. The perfect centerpiece. I have always loved to have company, but over the years I’ve changed my philosophy about preparing for them.

Mostly this is out of necessity, because, let’s face it, when you have eight kids, there ain’t no way your house is going to be perfect! (See petrified hot dog bun reference above.)

I try to take the down to earth and relaxed approach. I want our home to be welcoming, but I have given up on perfect.

When it comes to feeding company, I want to food to be plentiful and good, and I need  the food to be cheap. I don’t make special, separate meals for kids,  because I never do that for my own family and no one has every perished from starvation.

Here are a few of my favorite go to meals for company.

[8]

Cavatini [9]

And don’t forget your handy dandy Crock Pot! See where I have over 100 Crock Pot recipes [14]!

Be sure to stop over at the rest of  The 4 Moms to see what’s cooking for company over there!


Article printed from Smockity Frocks: http://www.smockityfrocks.com

URL to article: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/12/4-moms-discuss-cooking-for-company.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.smockityfrocks.com%2F2010%2F12%2F4-moms-discuss-cooking-for-company.html&media=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.smockityfrocks.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2010%2F03%2F4Moms35KidsNames.jpg&description=4%20Moms%20Discuss%20Cooking%20For%20Company

[2] homeschooling tips: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/category/homeschool

[3] kid-friendly crafts: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/category/crafts

[4] large family recipes: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/recipes

[5] parenting tips: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/category/parenting

[6] get my daily updates in your inbox: http://www.feedblitz.com/f/?Sub=906257

[7] Facebook fan page: http://facebook.com/SmockityFrocks

[8] Image: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/03/cavatini-recipe.html/100_8064

[9] Cavatini: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/03/cavatini-recipe.html

[10] Baked Oatmeal: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2007/01/baked-oatmeal.html

[11] Potato Soup: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/02/potato-soup-recipe.html

[12] Chicken and Dumplings: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2007/10/requested-recipe.html

[13] Chicken Spaghetti: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2007/02/chicken-spaghetti.html

[14] over 100 Crock Pot recipes: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2010/02/whats-in-your-crockpot.html

[15] The Common Room: http://heartkeepercommonroom.blogspot.com

[16] Raising Olives: http://raisingolives.com

[17] Life in a Shoe: http://inashoe.com

Copyright © 2013 Smockity Frocks. All rights reserved.